Skip to content

Gun control…

December 31, 2014

I know I’ve neglected this poor old blog. It’s the usual stuff of being busy and not having anything to say. It’s a killer for the creativity!

One year ends, and another begins, and I thought I’d just check in here, out of a sense of duty… A sense of obligation, you understand… I don’t know who to, but there you go. To myself, I suppose. Everyone has a web presence these days, right? And everyone is writing loads and loads of stuff about how exciting their lives are and how much they’ve got the answers to the world’s problems…

I’ve reminded myself that I was going to have a rant about gun control in the US. Yesterday, a two year old child shot and killed its mother, who was on a trip to Walmart with her licensed concealed weapon about their person. What kind of a world is it that allows and accepts that sort of thing happening? This is not going to be a long or complicated rant, because it just seems like a no-brainer. The free availability of guns means that people will get shot and they will die. What is the justification? It’s always tragic and it’s never justified.

Why is someone going to Walmart with a concealed gun? What is that all about?

It occurred to me that I wouldn’t know how to go about buying a gun. I know there is a gunsmith somewhere near where I live, because, bizarrely, they sponsor a roundabout on a nearby road, but that’s it. I don’t know the first thing about how to obtain one legally or illegally. The only guns I’ve ever seen in my life have been in the hands of armed police or members of the military. Even that is relatively recently, and always strikes a jarring note with me. I hope I never get used to the sight of guns. I’ve never, ever, actually held a real one in my hands. Long may that continue to be the case…

I’ve managed to make myself angry now, which is appropriate, I think. I don’t understand the ‘freedom’ arguments that some American advocates of the ‘right to bear arms’ would no doubt resort to. I don’t want the right to bear arms, and I’d very much prefer it is nobody else did either. That would make the world a significantly safer place, it seems to me.

From → Politics

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

